High School Journalism Day

SCSU’s High School Journalism Day will be held on Oct. 13, 2023. Registration information will be posted soon.


High School Journalism Day is held each year to expose students to the journalism industry and working journalists. It is part of the mission of the department to help contribute to the growth and preparation of future journalists in the state.

Past keynote speakers include:

Members of the Southern News staff pose with Laura Hutchinson, 2017 High School Journalism Day keynote speaker.| Vern Williams photo
  • 2023: To be announced – Save the date: Oct. 13
  • 2022: Keisha Grant, NBC Connecticut
  • 2020-21: Postponed due to COVID-19 restrictions
  • 2019: Mario Boone, WTNH
  • 2018: Ebong Udoma, WSHU radio/NPR 
  • 2017: Laura Hutchinson, WTNH anchor
  • 2016: Jenn Bernstein, FOX 61 anchor and political reporter
  • 2015: Dennis House, WFSB Eyewitness News anchor
  • 2014: Darren Sweeney, meteorologist for NBC Connecticut
  • 2013: Alaine Griffin, Hartford Courant reporter
  • 2012: Keisha Grant, NBC CT news anchor and reporter (cancelled due to weather)
  • 2011: Mike Piskorski, FOX CT photographer and editor
  • 2010: Paul Bass, New Haven Independent editor
  • 2009: Erin Cox, WTNH 8 general and investigative reporter
  • 2008: Rob Parker, ESPN Radio sports talk show host, Detroit News sports columnist
  • 2007: Barbara Pinto, ABC News correspondent
  • 2006: Frank Harris III, Hartford Courant columnist and SCSU Journalism Department chair
  • 2005: Jocelyn Maminta, WTNH 8 co-anchor and reporter
  • 2004: Joanne Nesti, NBC 30 news anchor
  • 2003: Leon Collins, WFSB 3 news anchor and reporter
  • 2002: Ann Nyberg, WTNH 8 news anchor
  • 2001: Dennis House, WFSB news anchor
  • 2000: Keith Kountz, WTNH 8 news anchor
  • 1999: Gerry Brooks, WVIT 30 news anchor
Jenn Bernstein, a FOX61 anchor and political reporter, addresses high school students at the 33rd annual High School Journalism Day at Southern Connecticut State University on Oct. 21, 2016. | Vern Williams photo.