Journalism graduates and award winners recognized

The Journalism Department recognized three students at the Honors Convocation on May 7, and celebrated its graduates at the 2023 Commencement on May 19.

The department awards included:

  • Crescent magazine Journalist of the Year: Valeria Araujo
  • Southern News Journalist of the Year: Sofia Rositani
  • Robin Marshall Glassman Outstanding Journalism Graduate: Sarah Shelton

Journalism students also attended the Commencement ceremony at Total Mortgage Arena in Bridgeport, Conn. on May 19.

Students had the opportunity to meet with commencement speaker Juju Chang, co-anchor of ABC’s Nightline, before the ceremony began.

Graduating majors and minors included:

  • Valeria Araujo
  • Sebastian Arbelaez
  • Tyler Fisher
  • Devin Hollister
  • Rafaela Martinez
  • Sofia Rositani
  • Sarah Shelton