2018 graduates and student honors

graduation 2018
Journalism students pose before commencement ceremonies on May 18, 2018. | Vern Williams photo.

More than a dozen students graduated from the Journalism Department on May 18, and the department honored three top students during the university Honors Convocation April 29.

The graduates included six who had finished work toward their degrees in December 2017:

  • Cristina D’Almeida
  • Melissa Nunez
  • Alexander Palmieri
  • Adrianna Rochester
  • Jeniece Roman
  • Ali Sorbara

Those finishing their degrees in May included:

  • Michael Apotria
  • Melanie Espinal
  • Tyler Ferrara
  • Gregory Gagliardi
  • Chloe Gorman
  • Megan Grabowski
  • Matthew Johnson
  • Emily Plavcan
  • Mary Rudzis
  • Christopher Rzasa
  • Lynandro Simmons

The graduation ceremony was held at the Webster Bank Arena in Bridgeport, Conn.

2018 Honors Convocation and Graduation

The Journalism Department also recognizes top students each year at the university Honors Convocation, held April 29 at Southern Connecticut State University.

Chloe Gorman received the Robin Marshall Glassman Outstanding Journalism Graduate of the Year award, while Jeniece Roman and Lynandro Simmons were recognized as the Southern News Journalists of the Year.